Nepal- exhausting day

Ok this day was fu***** exhausting.
I got up at six o'clock, got ready and went upstairs at 7 to help the kids with revising.

At 8.15 we had breakfast. As well as lunch and dinner it is rice with either potatoes or other vegetables. And to be honest I think this was the first and last time I ate it in the morning. It is also spicy and I'm just not used to eat something like this for breakfast. I think tomorrow I will make myself some muesli.


So then we went to school. I had to wait for some girls and they were quite late so we had to run the whole way (ok it isn't that long but still... great start in the morning with a belly full of rice and curry, right...?! 🤣)

Now the exhausting part of my day began...
I had to take care of children and teach them English. Well at first this doesn't sound like a big problem... but if you have to teach 5 year old kids which hardly speak English, then this is getting quite difficult.

In the beginning I just revised some stuff out of their books ( things they had learnt out by heart so this wasn't a big problem) .
Then they started doing an exercise in their books...and the chaos began.

First of all they had no idea what to do even if they had actually learnt all of that in their texts...
They just can't abstract anything. Then every 2min someone came up to me "Mrs can I go to toilet " " Mrs can I have a pencil " " Mrs can I have a sharpener" "Mrs can I drink water" "Mrs like this?" ... these are the only sentences they actually said in English. The other time they were talking Nepali with me... yeah of course I understood EVERYTHING !!! 
And after 2 hours (I had to teach 6 hours) they lost more and more discipline and concentration and started to shout, fight and run through the classroom.
So I was busy shouting "sit down" all the time. I think I said it like 9283774783892938 times.

The thing is the teachers are hitting the students or giving punishments (e.g push ups or jumping or standing outside ). The kids told me that some of the teachers slap very very hard, for example when you forget your homework or something like this.
 Obviously I would never slap a student or give them strange punishments... so they didn't really have respect for me.
I was sooo happy when the school day was finally over because this was sooo annoying and tiring and I couldn't wait to go back to the orphanage. Luckily I even found my way back without Google maps...because clever as I am I left my phone with the nalepali SIM card in my room....






Getting ready for school
Getting ready for school
School Uniform
School Uniform

In the afternoon I went out for 2 hours and looked for a nice cafe.
It was the first time I was walking by myself and I am actually so happy that I survived 😂
The traffic here is horrible. I had no idea when and how to cross the street without being hit by a car, bus, tuktuk, taxi or motorbike.
So I always waited until others crossed the street so I could follow them 😅 but this was really scary...
Ok now something strange happened and I still don't know how to feel about it.
I was walking down the street when suddenly a man talked to me and asked if I was European. So I said yes and we had a little conversation. I actually wanted to get some coffee and he just followed me and joined me...
We actually talked a lot and he seemed to be quite nice. But then he always wanted to show me around and drive to Thamel or other parts of Kathmandu and I do not really feel well about driving around with a strange old man, alone in his car.... I think it's quite weird. I mean, I just randomly met him on the street...
Well, so I made up a story and told him that I really have to go in about 15min.
But he still followed me...
I just needed to go to the supermarket to buy some toothpaste and water and he just came with me and I just thought "go awaaaaay!!!"

So after the supermarket he said he has to go right and I just "had to" walk in the opposite direction and went straight into an other cafe.😂

It's name was "cafe tara" and it was actually quite nice. And there was also good Wi-Fi yeiiiii😊 so I stayed there for two drinks. One mint lime refresher and one cucumber lime refresher. Both tasted soooo nice.


After that I went back to the orphanage (again I survived the traffic👍) 

I spent the rest of the day with the kids and helped them to revise.


And today I had rice three times. Breakfast, lunch, dinner.... well I've never eaten so much rice 🤣 and even if I'm only here since 3 days I am already kind of tired of it 😅🙈.


Oki I will go to bed now 


Good night xx


P.s i finally found out how to turn on the hot water in the shower... the last days I always had to shower with cold water.


And an other thing I want to remember... 

In the orphanage there are also a couple and an other woman who are taking care of the kids. The couple has a baby which is 2 years old. The others are always playing a lot with her and are really taking care of her. But somehow she is quite naughty... e.g she is throwing everything (food, books, pencils) or she spits out her water all over the carpet.....

But today she was running around naked and was standing next to me on the floor and she just started peeing. She's also peed on my key and everything and it smelled soo disgusting. In Germany normally we would use soap and water to clean it... But here they just put a towel over it... uuuurgh😅 

Cafe tara
Cafe tara
Mint Lime refresher
Mint Lime refresher

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 2
  • #1

    Liel (Mittwoch, 06 September 2017 14:00)

    ahh Lena, finde den Blog mega cool! Schreib unbedingt weiter so viel�

  • #2

    Claudia (Mittwoch, 06 September 2017 15:51)

    Hi Leni, freuen uns immer mega über deine tollen Berichte, wir mussten heute ziemlich lachen über die vielen wilden kids und Autos..��mum&pa