Nepal- Happy Tihar

Today we finished decorating the house and were spending half of the day with the kids. At 2.30 we left to Thamel and had some coffee before we went to the tattoo studio. My appointment was at four and we arrived there at 3,30 because I was soo nervous and excited.. I just couldn`t wait any longer. When we arrived there they printed out my tattoo and I had to decide which size I wanted to get. When I was sitting on the chair and the man started to put his stuff together I was actually so scared and couldn`t believe that I was about to get a tattoo. And an other girl which got a tattoo on her ankle was screaming so much which really didn`t help to calm myself down haha. When he started I was actually surprised that it didn`t hurt at all.. It only made me feel uncomfortable  when he went over parts which already started bleeding a bit but in total everything wasn`t as bad as I had expected it. Still, as always... For 15minutes I felt as if I would pass out haha. Typically me and needles... 

I really like the tattoo. I wanted it to be white because it is on my wrist and I don`t want it too be seen too much. And now one only sees it if one has a closer look at it, so it`s perfect. I`ll add a picture of it here as well. And don`t wonder... It might look not straight.. but it is. It`s just that it always depends on how I hold my arm. The symbol`s meanings are 1. freedom 2. strength and 3. harmony. And for me it`s also just a nice memory of Nepal, the time I spent here and what I learnt here about myself and Nepal of course.

 

Even if it wasn`t as horrible as expected I was still quite happy when it was over and I was back in the orphanage. By the way it cost 3000NR which is about 27 euros.

Back home I lay down for half an hour. First of all I was just a little bit psychical exhausted and second I kind of escaped the kids because of course everyone wanted to see it and I was really not in the mood for this, as they always touch everything as well and yeah ...

      

 

In the evening we started with the whole Tihar tradition.

Tihar is a five day long festival and also known as the light festival. People decorate there houses from the inside and outside with lights.

The children go from house to house and dance or sing in order to get money and Tika is put on dogs, cows and exchanged between brothers and sisters.  In front of all houses people make mandalas out of coloured sand, rice or flour. From the mandala they draw a line to the door which shouldn`t be crossed. The mandalas are meant to be a sacred welcoming area for the Gods, especially fot the God Laxmi, the God of wealth, fortune and prosperity. Everything is also decorated with candles and all of it looks just soo beautiful. I think it`s definitely one of my favourite festivals. 

 

So we also made a mandala, even two! And decorated everything with candles and flowers. An other thing they always do is baking Roti. Basically it is a ring-shaped rice bread which tasted quite ok but it isn`t one of my favourite foods here... And the made sooo much.. Why, we realized the next days.. We actually had to eat it the next 5 days for lunch...

After we had decorated everything we went to two of the neighbours. There the kids sang and danced and they gave them money, fruits and roti. 

 

Everything was really nice but still exhausting and an other thing which really annoyed me was that the kids always touched my arm or hold on to it which really hurt.. But they never really think about it or be careful. I told them to watch out about 30 times but they just don`t care or understand or forget about it which really made me angry

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0